Walton Federation Cup Football kicks off Friday

10 Jun,2016


Dhaka, BdChronicle:

The 12-team Walton Federation Cup Football Tournament, the season’s curtain raiser soccer meet, begins on Friday at the Bangabandhu National Stadium here.

Dhaka Mohammedan SC will play Rahmatganj MFS in the inaugural match at 4 pm while Dhaka Abahani Limited will face promote Arambagh KS in the other opening day’s fixture at 7:30 pm.

All the Federation Cup Football matches will be held at Bangabandhu National Stadium


Group A – Dhaka Abahani Ltd, Soccer Club, Feni and Arambagh KS

Group B – Sheikh Russel KC, Muktijoddha Sangsad KC and Ctg Abahani

Group C – Sheikh Jamal DC, Brothers Union and Uttara Baridhara Club

Group D- Dhaka Mohammedan SC, Team BJMC and Rahmatganj MFS

In the first phase, two group matches will be held everyday at 4 pm and 7:30 pm. After the first phase group matches, two top teams from each of the groups will play in the quarterfinals from June 17-20, all at 3:40 pm.

Two semifinal matches will commence June 22 & 23, both at 3:45 pm while the final match billed for June 26, also at 3:45 pm.

BFF Senior Vice President and Chairman of the Professional Football League Committee Abdus Salam Murshedy disclosed it at a press conference at Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) House on Thursday.

FM Iqbal bin Anwar of Walton, BFF member Fazlur Rahman Babul and BFF general secretary Abu Nayem Shahag, among others, were present at the press conference.

Best player and highest scorer of the tournament will be awarded with Walton LED Television while man of the matches of each match will awarded with Walton products.

Fixture of the first phase group matches:

June 10 :  Mohammedan SC vs Rahmatganj MFS (4: pm)

                Dhaka Abahani     vs Arambagh KS. (7:30 pm)

June 11 :  Sheikh Jamal vs Uttara Baridhara,

                Sheikh Russel vs Chittagong Abahani.

June 12   Rahmatganj MFS vs Team BJMC

                Arambagh KS vs Soccer Club, Feni.

June 13 : Ctg  Abahani vs Muktijoddha Sangsad

              Uttara Baridhara vs Brothers Union.

June  14  Soccer Club, Feni vs Dhaka Abahani

               Mohammedan SC vs Team BJMC.

June 15   Muktijoddha Sangsad  vs Sheikh Russel

               Sheikh Jamal DC vs Brothers Union.

More News