ACC bans leaving country by 7 Farmers Bank officials

26 Sep,2018

Anti-Corruption Commission on Wednesday imposed a ban on foreign trips by seven current and former officials of Farmers Bank Limited who were allegedly involved in a transaction of Tk 4 crore which was finally deposited to a bank account of former chief justice Surendra Kumar Sinha.

The officials are former managing director and chief executive officer AKM Shameem, first vice-president Swapan Kumar Roy, senior executive vice-president Gazi Salauddin, vice-president M Lutful Haque, assistant vice-president Shafiuddin Askaree Ahmed, executive officer Umme Salma Sultana and its Gulshan branch manager Ziauddin.

The ACC imposed the ban hours after interrogating all the officials but Ziauddin on the day at ACC head officer for about six hours on the issue.

The commission director Sayed Iqbal Hossain sent a letter to the special superintendent of police (immigration) asking to necessary step in this regard.

In the letter, the ACC said that it was informed that the officials are trying to leave the country.

On April 25, the ACC launched an inquiry into an anonymous complaint that Tk 4 crore had been transferred to the bank account of the former chief justice Sinha from two accounts in Farmers Bank.

The inquiry began against SK Sinha four months and a half after he resigned as the chief justice on November 10 amid huge controversies he stirred by penning the unanimous verdict that upheld the striking down the 16th amendment.

More News