Fresh case filed against Fakhrul, Moudud, Abbas, others

02 Oct,2018

A fresh case was filed under the Special Powers Act against main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party secretary general and standing committee members and others while about 150 BNP leaders and activists were remanded in police custody in Dhaka on Monday. 

Hatirjheel police station filed a case against top BNP leaders, including secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, standing committee members Moudud Ahmed, Mirza Abbas, Goyeshwar Chandra Roy and Abdul Moyeen Khan and senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi, a day after BNP held a rally in the city after securing police permission on conditions. 
Fifty leaders and activists were named in the case that accused 20-25 unnamed persons for ‘illegally holding rally’ and creating ‘panic’ among the people. 
Hatirjheel police station sub-inspector Shariful Islam filed the case.           
BNP senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi, in an instant reaction, said there is no rule of law in the country but only ‘rule’ of ‘oppression’. He told CNC that false cases are being filed against eminent politicians who have immense contribution to politics and professions.
He said it is now a crime to speak against Awami League or the government for which cases are being filed against leaders and activists, placing them in remand and sending them to jail.
He said the government is implementing plans to ensure holding the next general election ‘unilaterally’. 
Separate metropolitan courts in Dhaka on Monday remanded about 150 leaders and activities of BNP, arrested at the rally at Suhrawardy Udyan in Dhaka on Sunday, in police custody for interrogation in different cases. 
Of the cases, Ramna police station prosecuted 11 leaders and activists, Shabagh police station 6, Gulshan Shabagh police stations 2, Budda police station 7,  Bhatara police station c, Tejgaon  police station 8, Mohammadpur police station 17,  Chakbazar police station 6, Kotwali police station 2, Wari police station 13, Paltan police station 15, Rampura police station 9, Motijhel  police station 17, Shajahanpur police station 10, Jattaribai police station 4, Demra police station 2, Shampur and Kadamtali police station 10, Sheebngla police station 10, Sherebangla police station 3 and Dhanmondi police station prosecuted 7 leaders and activists. 
The cases slapped against the BNP leaders are of vandalism, obstacle to duty of police while some are special powers acts cases. In most of the cases, police filled remand petition for 7-5 days police remand and the court allowed 2-3 days police remand.
Defense pleader filed petition for remand rejection and bail prayer but court allowed 2-3 days police remand. Defense pleader and BNP lawyer advocate Sana Ullah Mia said that around 200 leaders and activist were arrested.

More News