Make biometric attendance system mandatory, Nasim asks hospitals

08 Sep,2016


Dhaka, BdChronicle:

Health Minister Mohammad Nasim on Tuesday directed the authorities concerned to make the biometric attendance system mandatory at all public hospitals to ensure the presence of doctors, nurses, officials and employees.

He issued the directive at a meeting on improving overall management standard of all government district and upazila hospitals held at the Health Ministry.

The minister warned that hospital directors, civil surgeons, and upazila and family planning officers concerned will also be held responsible if there is any allegation of absence against anyone at the hospital.

Noting that the success of government programmes to ensure standard health services for people depends on doctors and nurses, he said no negligence will be tolerated in this regard.

Nasim also asked the hospital directors to take stern action against the nuisance of brokers in hospital areas.

He said the government will formulate a policy soon to discourage the establishment of private clinics and diagnostic centres near government hospitals.

Director General of the Directorate General of Health Services Prof Dr Abul Kalam Azad and other high officials were present at the meeting.

More News