All 4 technocrat ministers quit from cabinet

06 Nov,2018

BDchronicle :

Expatriates' Welfare and Overseas Employment Minister Nurul Islam BSc and State Minister for Science and Technology Yafes Osman, Telecommunications and Information Technology Minister Mustafa Jabbar and Religious Affairs Minister Motiur Rahman have resigned from the cabinet.

They tendered their resignation letters to the Cabinet Division complying with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina call in line with a Supreme Court verdict.

Nurul Islam BSc submitted his resignation letter to the Cabinet Division at 6:30pm, AKM Niaj Mosrhed, assistant personal secretary (APS-2) to the minister, told The Daily Star.

Mustafa Jabbar's resignation was submitted to the Cabinet Division, reports UNB.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina directed the four technocrat ministers to quit the cabinet, said Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader while talking to reporters at Gono Bhaban after the Cabinet meeting.

He, however, said the other ministers will remain there as usual in their respective posts.

More News