PM declares 5pc increment, Boishakhi allowance for MPO teachers

09 Nov,2018


Prime minister Sheikh Hasina on Thursday announced Boishakhi festival allowance and five per cent increment for teachers and employees of MPO-listed non-government educational institutions.

The prime minister made the announcement while distributing cheques for seed money of Tk 100 crore among nine organisations and trust funds at Ganabhaban here in the evening.
Nearly five lakh teachers and employees of the non-government educational institutions like schools, colleges and madrassahs under the MPO would get the increment and Boishakhi allowance.
About Tk 532 crore would be spent annually for meeting the expenses of the increment, while over Tk 177 crore would be required for providing the Boaishakhi allowance for them, officials concerned said.
They said the Finance Division had allocated necessary funds for 2018-19 fiscal years in this regard.
Meanwhile, Sheikh Hasina handed over the cheques for the seed money amounting to Tk 100 crore to the trust funds and organisations.
She donated Tk 10 crore each as seed money to Non-government Educational Institution Teachers-Employees Welfare Trust and the Non-government Educational Institution Teachers-Employees Retirement Benefit Board.
Besides, the Fire Service and Civil Defence Welfare Trust and the Cultural Activists Welfare Fund got Tk 20 crore each as the seed money.
The prime minister also handed over cheques of Tk 10 crore each as seed money to the Bangabandhu National Agriculture Award Trust, the Bangabandhu Science and Technology Fellowship Trust and the Bangabandhu Sports Activists Welfare Foundation.
Besides, she donated Tk five crore to the Imam-muazzin Welfare Trust and the Neuro-Developmental Disabled Protection Trust each.
Agriculture minister Begum Matia Chowdhury, social welfare minister Rashed Khan Menon, home minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal, science and technology minister Architect Yeafesh Osman, cultural affairs minister Asaduzzaman Noor, state minister for youth and sports Biren Shikdar, deputy minister Arif Khan Joy, PM’s principal secretary Md Nojibur Rahman and secretaries concerned were present.

More News