Fakhrul, two others remain stand-by in Khaleda’s seats

28 Nov,2018


As uncertainty looms large over the participation of their chairperson in the election, Bangladesh Nationalist Party's three other leaders, including Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, submitted nomination papers in Bogura-6, Bogura-7 and Feni-1 seats alongside Khaleda Zia.

Party insiders said they fielded alternatives candidates in the three seats of Khaleda as her nomination is likely to be declared void following Tuesday's High Court observation that those who have been sentenced to over two years' jail by a lower court in any graft case with appeal pending will not be allowed to contest elections.

Bogura district BNP president Saiful Islam submitted Khaleda’s nomination paper for Bogura-6 seat to returning officer Foyez Ahmed around noon.

He also filed a nomination paper in favour BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir in the same seat.

Earlier in the day, Fakhrul submitted his nomination paper to the returning officer in Tahkurgaon for contesting the polls from Thakurgaon-1 seat.

Former BNP MP Helaluzzaman Talukder Lalu submitted Khaleda’s nomination paper for Bogura-7 constituency to the Shahjahanpur Upazia Nirbahi Officer at noon.

Gabtali upazila BNP general secretary Morshed Alam Milton also submitted nomination form in the same seat as an alternative party candidate, said BNP chairperson’s media wing member Sayrul Kabir Khan.

He said Khaleda’s nomination was also submitted in the Feni-1 seat while Dhaka south city unit Juba Dal president Rafiqul Islam Majnu filed nomination in the same seat as an alternative candidate.

More News