AL, BNP to negotiate with allies until Dec 9

29 Nov,2018


The Ruling Awami League and the opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party would continue negotiations for seat sharing with allies until the December 9 deadline for withdrawal of candidature as the issue was not settled till Wednesday, the last day for submission of nomination papers.

Both the archrivals are still in trouble to settle the seat sharing with the parties in their alliances for the 11th parliamentary elections scheduled for December 30.
Awami League general secretary Obaidul Quader at a press conference at party president Sheikh Hasina’s Dhanmandi-3 office on Wednesday said, ‘We shall try to finalise the nominations of party and alliance candidates for the 300 seats after the scrutiny of the nomination papers and if not possible then we shall finish it before the deadline for withdrawal of candidature.’
He said, ‘We shall share about 70 seats with the allies and also the seat sharing is almost finalised.’ 
He earlier had said that they would finalise nominations for 300 seats by Monday but they deferred it on ‘technical’ grounds.
The Jatiya Party faction led by HM Ershad, the AL-led alliance, the Jukta Front and some others Islamist parties are in the ‘grand alliance’ led by the Awami League.
BNP has to negotiate mainly with the parties in Jatiya Oikya Front comprising BNP, the Gono Forum, the Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal faction led by ASM Abdur Rob, the Nagorik Oikya and the Krishak Sramik Janata League.
BNP, however, almost settled seat shearing with the parties in the BNP-led alliance and most the parties collected nomination certificates from BNP on Monday and Tuesday during handing over the nomination certificates to about 800 BNP aspirants at BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia’s Gulshan office for about 270 of the 300 seats, party leaders said.
BNP was sharing 22 seats with its key ally the Jamaat-e-Islami against its demand for 30 seats, the leaders said.
Leaders of BNP-led alliance who took nomination certificates included Andaleev Rahman Partha of Bangladesh Jatiya Party for Bhola 1, Fariduzzaman Farhad of NPP  for Narail 2,  Sayeed Ahmed of Samyabadi Dal for Narayanganj 5,  Syed Mohammad Ibrahim of Kalyan Party for Chottagram 5, Liberal Democratic Party’s Oli Ahmed of for Chottagram 14,  Redwan Ahmed for Comilla 7 and Shahdat Hossain Selim for Lakshmipur 1, Jamiote Ulamae Islami’s Shahinur Pasha for Sunamganj 3 and Mohammad Wakkas for Jashore 5, Mustafizur Rahman Iran of Labour Party for Pirojpur 2, Mostafa Zamal Haider and TIM Fazle Rabbi of Jatiya Party (Kazi Zafar) for Pirojpur 1 and Gaibandha 3 respectively for contesting the poll with BNP’s electoral symbol sheaf of paddy.
BNP’s ally Khelafat Majlsih secretary general Ahmed Abdul Kader said that BNP standing committee member Nazrul Islam Khan, one of the members of BNP’s committee to negotiate seat sharing with allies, told him that seat sharing negotiation would resume after scrutiny of the nomination papers. 
The seat sharing was not settled with Khelafat Majslih as it submitted 20 nomination papers individually on Tuesday.
Gono Forum executive president Subrata Chowdhury said that the negotiation of seat sharing would resume within couple of days.
He said Gono Forum has no minimum or maximum demand for seats, saying that competent and popular ones should get nomination from the Jatiya Oikya Front.
About 111 Gono Forum candidates submitted nomination papers, Subrata said.
BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, also the front spokesperson, on Tuesday said that seat sharing with the parties in the front would be settled after the scrutiny of the nomination papers.
He said that BNP would share maximum 60 seats with its allies in the two alliances.
The front will contest the 11th parliament polls with BNP’s electoral symbol sheaf of paddy.

More News