Tigers extend lead to 88 against Australia

28 Aug,2017

Dhaka, BdChronicle:

After wrapping up a 43-run lead in the first innings dismissing visiting Australia for 217, the Tigers extended the margin to 88 runs scoring 45 for 1 in 22 overs in the 2nd innings at stumps on Day-2 in the 1st Test at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Monday.


Bangladesh opened the 2nd innings in the 3rd session with a 43-run advantage in the first innings with the opening pair of Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar contributing 43 runs in 20.1 overs.


Tamim was unbeaten on 30 off 70 balls, including two boundaries, while night watchman Taijul Islam is accompanying him scoring no run facing 9 balls in the 2nd stand at the end of the day.


Soumya Sarkar (15 off 53b; 3x4) should have held his nerve to stay for the remaining session of the day but a bad attempt sent him back to the pavilion as he was caught by Usman Khawaja off Ashton Agar. Agar conceded 9 runs in 5 overs for the lone wicket.


Earlier, the Tigers’ spin bowlers ran through the Aussie batting castle bundling out them for 217 in 74.5 overs when they were replying to Bangladesh’s 260 runs in the 1st innings.


World number one all-rounder across all formats of cricket Shakib Al Hasan captured five wickets and young spinner Mehedi Hasan Miraz bagged three while another left-hander Taijul Islan took one wicket for the host side.


With this, Shakib captured five wickets in a Test innings for the 16th time in his career after dismissing Aussie last wicket Josh Hazlewood who was caught by Imrul Kayes at 217.


Australia resumed the 1st innings with their overnight score of 18/3 in 9 overs and played 56.5 overs on the 2nd day to add 99 runs with their seven wickets.


Overnight opening batsman Matt Renshaw top-scored 45 off 94 balls, including five boundaries, before being caught by Soumya Sarker off Sahkib Al Hasan at slip at 117/6 in 35.1 overs.


The Tigers’ spinners did a great job capturing eight wickets in 43.1 overs at 144 but the 9th wicket stand held their nerves carrying the team total to 193/9 in 68.3 overs.


The 9th pair between left handed Ashton Agar and Pat Cummins shared 49 runs in 23.2 overs before Cummins was bowled out by Shakib Al Hasan.


Ashton Agar stayed for unbeaten 41 off 97 balls, including two boundaries and one six, while Pat Cummins added 25 runs.


During the 2nd day’s play, young spinner Mehedi Hasan Miraz bowled out Australia’s skipper Steven Smith early in the morning at 33/4 in 17th over and trapped number-8 batsman Matthew Wade lbw at 124/7 in 37th over.


Taijul Islam trapped Peter Handscomb lbw to break the vital stand of 69 in 20.3 overs what Handscomb shared with Glenn Maxwell in the 5th stand to carry the team collection to 102/5 in 32.3 overs from 33/4 in 17 overs. 


Handscomb scored 33 off 67 balls with six boundaries while Maxwell (23 off 39 b; 3x4) was stumped by Mushfiqur Rahim off Shakib bowling at 144/8 in 43.1 overs.


Miraz who made the first breakthrough in the innings dismissing David Warner (8 off 15b; 1x4) on Day-1 again made the first breakthrough on Day-2 in the last ball of the innings 12th over when aggressive batsman Steven Smith collected only 8 off 16 balls, involving one boundary. Smith added just five runs more with his overnight score of 3 runs. 


Mehedi delivered a flight on middle and leg to Smith who advanced to get the pitch but rather inexplicably missed the ball to be bowled.


Shakib captured five wickets for 68 runs in 25.5 overs while Miraz captured three wickets for 62 runs in 26 overs. Taijul Islam     took one for 32 runs in 8 overs.


Brief score:


Bangladesh 1st innings: 260/10 in 78.5 overs; Shakib Al Hasan 84, Tamim Iqbal 71, Nasir Hossain 23, Ashton Agar 3/46, Pat Cummins 3/63, Nathan Lyon 3/79.


Bangladesh 2nd innings: 45/1 in 22 overs, at stumps: Tamim Iqbal 30*, Soumya Sarkar 15, Taijul Islam batting on zero, Ashton Agar 1/9.


Australia 1st Innings: 217/10 in 74.5 overs (overnight 18/3 in 9 overs); Matt Renshaw 45, Ashton Agar 41*, Peter Handscomb 33, Pat Cummins 25, Glenn Maxwell 23, Shakib Al Hasan 5/68, Mehedi Hasan Miraz 3/62,Taijul Islam 1/32.


More News